The main page content begins here.

New Directions in Theoretical Physics 3

Event description

New Directions in Theoretical Physics is a series of prestigious interdisciplinary conferences organised by the Higgs Centre, aiming to generate an exchange of ideas and highlight new approaches to challenges in all areas of theoretical physics. All talks in this meeting are plenary review talks and are intended to reach out to the entire community of theoretical physicists, inspire researchers and generate a valuable discussion across disciplines.

The January 2019 meeting is the third meeting in this series, following highly successful meetings in 2017 and 2014. It will cover a broad range of topics including particle physics, quantum field theory, cosmology and dark matter, general relativity and gravitational waves, stochastic thermodynamics, entanglement, disorder, complexity and chaos in quantum systems, principles of machine learning and physics of living systems.

This time the conference extends over three full days, Wednesday 9th - Friday 11th January , consisting of review talks (all talks are 45 minutes) and discussion sessions. The list of speakers is below. In the evening of the first day (Wednesday, 9 Jan) there will be a drinks reception (6:30pm) followed by a public talk by Nima Arkani-Hamed (starting at 7:30pm). On the Thursday (10 Jan) all participants will be hosted for a conference dinner.



  • Claude Duhr (CERN and UC Louvain)
  • Matthew Mccullough (CERN and Cambridge)
  • Ira Rothstein (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Udo Seifert (Stuttgart University)
  • Chris Jarzynski (University of Maryland)
  • Satya Majumdar (Université de Paris-Sud, Orsay)
  • Ehud Altman (Berkeley)
  • Frank Verstraete (Ghent University)
  • Naftaly Tishby (Hebrew University, Jerusalem)
  • Vijay Balasubramanian (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Jean-Francois Joanny (Université Pierre-et-Marie-Curie and ESPCI ParisTech)
  • Gregory Gabadadze (NYU)
  • Claudia de Rham (Imperial College London)
  • Nima Arkani-Hamed (IAS, Princeton)
  • George Sterman (YITP, Stony Brook)
  • Mark Bowick (KITP, Santa Barbara)
  • Neal Weiner (New York University)
  • Gregory Korchemsky (CEA, Saclay)
  • Éanna Flannagan (Cornell University)
  • Subir Sachdev (Harvard University)
  • Priyamvada Natarajan (Yale University)
  • John Ellis (CERN and Kings College London)


The symposium venue is at 50 George Square of our Central Area Campus. Please see direction information below:


Please see the resources tab at the top of the page for a list of nearby accommodation options.

The Higgs lecture

On the evening of Wednesday the 9th January you are invited to participate in The Higgs Public Lecture, a talk entitled "The End of Spacetime," by Nima Arkani-Hamed. The lecture will be held at the Gordon Aikman Lecture Theatre, 32 George Square, and is free of charge but requires early registration.

Prior to the lecture we invite you to a drinks reception.

Conference dinner

On the evening of Thursday 10th January you are invited to Surgeons Hall for a delicious three-course meal. Please advise your attendance at the dinner by checking the correct box on the registration form, there is no extra cost to attend.

Delegate Discounts

You will be provided with an Edinburgh Rewards Passport at the registration desk, this gives access to over 100 discounts and exclusive offers at a selection of the city's restaurants, bars, tourist attractions and pre booked taxis. Details of the discounts are at as well as the printed passport.


New Directions in Theoretical Physics 3

Related events


Key speakers


  • PDF
  • PDF
  • PDF