Cluster Algebras and the Geometry of Scattering Amplitudes


The aim of this meeting is to bring together physicists and mathematicians who are interested in the connections between cluster algebras and the geometry of scattering amplitudes. This is intended to facilitate increased interaction and collaboration between these fields, and to provide an avenue for the articulation of interesting and concrete mathematical problems whose resolutions promise to lead to novel physical insights and combinatorial methods. Specific topics to be discussed include:

  • the positive grassmannian
  • cluster adjacency

  • cluster polylogarithms

  • tropical grassmannians

  • cluster polytopes

  • the analytic structure and kinematic geometry of nonplanar amplitudes

  • geometric aspects of worse-than-polylogarithmic amplitudes

In particular, it is hoped that the program will stimulate new ideas for how cluster-algebraic techniques can be used to understand the analytic structure of scattering amplitudes beyond the polylogarithmic sector of planar N=4 super-Yang-Mills theory. Please click on speakers' names to view their talks:


Please follow this link to view available B&Bs and guesthouses close to the Kings Building Campus and the James Clerk Maxwell Building. Please inquire about academic rates. Further information on the venue can be found here .


  • Herbert Gangl

  • Einan Gardi

  • Ömer Gurdogan

  • Andrew McLeod

Advisory Committee

  • Jacob Bourjaily
  • Marcus Spradlin
  • Anastasia Volovich


See the full timetable on Indico

3 Mar / 09:00—10:00
Jacob Bourjaily - Stratifying On-Shell Cluster Varieties (1h00′)
3 Mar / 11:00—12:00
Anna Felikson - Quiver mutations, reflection groups and curves on punctured disc (1h00′)
3 Mar / 13:30—14:30
Marcus Spradlin - Cluster Algebras and SYM Theory (1h00′)
3 Mar / 15:30—16:30
Mikhail Gekhtman - Periodic staircase matrices and generalized cluster algebras (1h00′)
4 Mar / 09:00—10:00
James Drummond - Cluster algebras, tropical Grassmannians and Amplitudes (1h00′)
4 Mar / 11:00—12:00
Nick Early - From matroid subdivisions of hypersimplices to generalized Feynman diagrams (1h00′)
4 Mar / 13:30—14:30
Georgios Papathanasiou - How tropical are scattering amplitudes? (1h00′)
4 Mar / 15:30—16:30
Tomasz Lukowski - From amplituhedron to positive tropical Grassmannian via hypersimplex (1h00′)
5 Mar / 09:00—10:00
Johannes Henn - A simple algorithm for finding canonical differential equations for Feynman integrals (1h00′)
5 Mar / 11:00—12:00
Cristian Vergu - Progress in N=4 scattering amplitudes computations (1h00′)
5 Mar / 13:30—14:30
Steven Charlton - Cluster Polylogarithms (1h00′)
5 Mar / 15:30—16:30
Nima Arkani-Hamed (1h00′)


The following have registered to attend this workshop:

First NameLast NameAffiliation
Alasdair Ross University of Edinburgh
Alfredo Guevara Perimeter Institute
Andrew McLeod Niels Bohr Institute
Anna Felikson Durham University
Aris Ioannou The University of Edinburgh
Atul Sharma University of Oxford
Ben Maybee University of Edinburgh
Berta Hudak Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
Calum Milloy University of Edinburgh
Chrysostomos Kalousios University of Southampton
Connor Armstrong Durham University
Cristian Vergu Niels Bohr International Academy
Damian Wierzbicki University of Glasgow
Dani Kaufman UMD
David Damgaard LMU Munich
David Dunbar SWansea University , UK
Dominik Rist Heriot-Watt University
Donal O’Connell Edinburgh
Einan Gardi The University of Edinburgh
Emmet Byrne The University of Edinburgh
Gabriele Dian Durham University
Georgios Papathanasiou DESY
Giulia Albonico Oxford University
Giulio Salvatori Brown University
Harry Braden University of Edinburgh
Herbert Gangl Durham University
Jack Foster University of Southampton
Jacob Bourjaily Penn State University
James Drummond University of Southampton
Johannes Henn Max Planck Institute for Physics, Munich
Lionel Mason University of Oxford
Livia Ferro LMU Munich & Univ. of Hertfordshire
Marcus Spradlin Brown University
Maryam Noorbakhsh Institute of fundamental science (IPM)
Matteo Parisi Mathematical Institute, Oxford University
Matteo Sergola university of edinburgh
Michael Gekhtman University of Notre Dame
Niamh Maher University of Edinburgh
Nicholas Early Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
Niklas Henke DESY
Nima Arkani-Hamed Princeton IAS and Harvard U.
Sandipan Bhattacherjee National Institute of Science Education and Research Bhubaneswar, India
Steven Charlton Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, Bonn
Suvadeep Roy Department of Physical Sciences, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Kolkata
Tom Lenagan University of Edinburgh
Tomasz Lukowski University of Hertfordshire
Zachary Greenberg University Of Maryland College Park
Ömer Gürdoğan University of Oxford

Cluster Algebras and the Geometry of Scattering Amplitudes

Higgs Centre Workshop
Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics