The main page content begins here.

Analogue models of gravity and fluctuation-induced phenomena

Event description

The workshop is multidisciplinary and aims to bring together researchers both from the gravity/high energy and condensed matter communities. The topic of the workshop falls within the broad research field of non-equilibrium quantum fields and fluctuations induced phenomena, which include Hawking radiation and dynamical Casimir effect. Participants will discuss the present state of both theoretical and experimental research in the field, as well as future challenges.

The workshop is free of charge, but unfortunately the number of attendees is limited. Contributed talks and posters are welcome. We will accommodate as many talk requests as we are able. Please submit your proposed title and a brief abstract when you register. All applications will be considered as long as places are available.

This event is co-funded by the Leverhulme Trust and University of Glasgow.

For accommodation recommendations nearby, please see workshop resources on the right of this page. KM Central will be used by many speakers of the workshop and is recommended if you wish to join them

Registration deadline:
Registration is now closed.

Abstract submission deadline:
31 May 2022

Please address any questions concerning the workshop to: Dr Salvatore (Giulio) Butera
School of Physics and Astronomy
University of Glasgow
University Avenue
Kelvin Building, Room 522

Co-funded by Leverhulme Trust


See the full timetable on Indico


Analogue models of gravity and fluctuation-induced phenomena


Higgs Centre Seminar Room, JCMB (Find us on campus maps)
The Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics
School of Physics and Astronomy
James Clerk Maxwell Building, 4305
Peter Guthrie Tait Road


Key speakers

  • Fabio BIANCALANA (Heriot-Watt)
  • Miles P. BLENCOWE (Dartmouth College)
  • Martin BOJOWALD (Penn State University)
  • Daniele FACCIO (Glasgow)
  • Gabriele FERRARI (University of Trento)
  • Larry FORD (Tufts University)
  • Elisabeth GIACOBINO (Laboratoire Kastler Brossel)
  • Luca GIACOMELLI (University of Trento)
  • Bei Lok HU (University of Maryland)
  • Francesco INTRAVAIA (HU Berlin)
  • Ian MOSS (Newcastle)
  • Jeff STEINHAUER (Technion)
  • William (Bill) UNRUH (UBC)
  • Silke WEINFURTNER (Nottingham)