Amplitudes 2017 Summer School

03.07.2017 to 07.07.2017
Einan Gardi, Donal O’Connell (Edinburgh), Claude Duhr (CERN), Simon Badger, Nigel Glover (Durham)

LT2, Appleton Tower

Key Speakers:
Stefan Weinzierl (Mainz), Johannes Henn (Mainz), Marcus Spradlin (Brown), Jaroslav Trnka (Davis), John Joseph Carrasco (CEA, Saclay)


The study of scattering amplitudes has developped substantially over the past few years, with applications ranging from precision calculations for the LHC through new approaches to gauge theories and gravity and ending with pure mathematics. The annual meeting Amplitudes 2017 workshop will be hosted by the Higgs Centre between 10-14 July. This present summer school is held in the week preceding the workshop, and it offers an introduction to some of the central topics to be discussed at the workshop. Five lecturers will deliver sets of lectures and tutorials over the full 5 days of 3-7 July.

Confirmed lecturers:

Stefan Weinzierl (Mainz) - '1001 tales of gluons’
Johannes Henn (Mainz) - Feynman Integrals
Marcus Spradlin (Brown) - Multiloop Scattering Amplitudes and Cluster Algebras
Jaroslav Trnka (Davis) - Grassmannian Geometry of Scattering Amplitudes
John Joseph Carrasco (CEA, Saclay) - Graphical Methods for Sharp Prediction: from theories entirely formal to the utterly effective.

The timetable can be found here. 
A detailed programme is available on the Amplitudes School Indico Page


The main target audience is PhD students and early-career postdocs who are already working in the field, and are intersted to extend their perspective. Registration is free of charge, but the number of places is restricted. Please register using the registration button below.

Venue: The School will be held in Lecture Theatre 2 of the Appleton Tower in our George Square Campus, directions can be found here.

Dinner: The Higgs Centre will be providing dinner at the Royal Scots Club on the evening of Thursday 6th July, please indicate your attendance on the registration form. Directions are here.

Funding is provided by: 


The Higgs Centre for Theoretical Physics (University of Edinburgh) 




The Institute for Particle Physics Phenomenology (Durham University)






Scottish Universities Physics Alliance (SUPA)



Amplitudes 2017 Summer School - Registration Form

Enter the characters shown in the image.